(Gordon Cox’s article appeared in Variety, 5/23.)

The full list of 2016 Obies Awards follows:


Lucas HnathThe Christians (Playwrights Horizons) and Red Speedo (New York

Theatre Workshop)

Stephen KaramThe Humans (Roundabout Theatre Company)

Musical Theater

Steven Levenson (book), Benj Pasek and Justin Paul (music & lyrics), Dear Evan

Hansen (Second Stage Theatre)



Rachel ChavkinThe Royale (Lincoln Center Theater)

Michael LeibenluftI’ll Never Love Again (Bushwick Starr)



Khris DavisThe Royale (Lincoln Center Theater)

Emily DonahoeThe Christians (Playwrights Horizons)

Georgia EngelJohn (Signature Theatre Company)

EnsembleEclipsed (The Public Theater): Pascale ArmandAkosua Busia, Zainab JahLupita Nyong’oSaycon Sengbloh

Jayne HoudyshellThe Humans (Roundabout Theatre Company)

Omar Metwally and Arian MoayedGuards at the Taj (Atlantic Theater Company)

Ben PlattDear Evan Hansen (Second Stage Theatre)

Lucas Caleb RooneyRed Speedo (New York Theatre Workshop)

Tamara TunieFamiliar (Playwrights Horizons)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *