(via  Scott Klein/Logan Metzler at Keith Sherman & Associates)                                                 WINNERS ANNOUNCED

Awards were presented Sunday, June 2nd at The Town Hall


(Sunday, June 2, 2019) – Winners for the 64th Annual Drama Desk Awards were announced this evening at The Town Hall.

The 2019 Drama Desk Awards full list of winners is available below and will be available at www.DramaDeskAwards.com.

In keeping with Drama Desk’s mission, nominators considered shows that opened on Broadway, Off Broadway and Off-Off Broadway during the 2018-2019 New York theater season in the same competitive categories.

About Drama Desk

The mission of the Drama Desk is to recognize outstanding achievement in New York theater and encourage discussion of issues significant to theater professionals. The organization accomplishes these goals by bestowing annual awards in more than 30 categories of theater arts and crafts, hosting the awards celebration, and presenting educational forums and panel discussions on theater topics.

The Drama Desk was founded in 1949 by New York Times arts reporter Sam Zolotow, Edith Oliver ofThe New Yorker, and New York Post critic Vernon Rice, among others. Six years later, after Rice’s untimely death, the organization initiated an award in his honor for outstanding achievement Off-Broadway. Subsequently expanded and renamed the Drama Desk Awards, they now recognize accomplishments on Broadway, Off-Broadway, and Off-Off-Broadway.


Outstanding Play

Fairview, by Jackie Sibblies Drury, Soho Rep

***The Ferryman, by Jez Butterworth***

Lewiston/Clarkston, by Samuel D. Hunter, Rattlestick Playwrights Theater

Usual Girls, by Ming Peiffer, Roundabout Theatre Company

What the Constitution Means to Me, by Heidi Schreck, New York Theatre Workshop andBroadway

Outstanding Musical

Be More Chill

The Hello Girls, Prospect Theater Company

***The Prom***

Rags Parkland Sings the Songs of the Future, Ars Nova



Outstanding Revival of a Play

Fabulation, or the Re-Education of Undine, Signature Theatre

Henry VI: Shakespeare’s Trilogy in Two Parts, National Asian American Theatre Company

Our Lady of 121st Street, Signature Theatre

Summer and Smoke, Classic Stage Company/Transport Group

***The Waverly Gallery***

Uncle Vanya, Hunter Theater Project


Outstanding Revival of a Musical

Carmen Jones, Classic Stage Company

***Fiddler on the Roof, National Yiddish Theatre Folksbiene and Off-Broadway***

Kiss Me, Kate, Roundabout Theatre Company

Merrily We Roll Along, Fiasco Theater/Roundabout Theatre Companyc

Rodgers & Hammerstein’s Oklahoma!Bard Summerscape/St. Ann’s Warehouse andBroadway


Outstanding Actor in a Play

Jeff Biehl, Life Sucks

Edmund Donovan, Lewiston/Clarkston

Raúl Esparza, The Resistible Rise of Arturo Ui

Russell Harvard, I Was Most Alive With You

***Jay O. Sanders, Uncle Vanya***


Outstanding Actress in a Play

Midori Francis, Usual Girls

Zainab Jah, Boesman and Lena

***Elaine May, The Waverly Gallery***

Laurie Metcalf, Hillary and Clinton

Heidi Schreck, What the Constitution Means to Me


Outstanding Actor in a Musical

Brooks Ashmanskas, The Prom

Andrew R. Butler, Rags Parkland Sings the Songs of the Future

Damon Daunno, Rodgers & Hammerstein’s Oklahoma!

***Santino Fontana, Tootsie***

Steven Skybell, Fiddler on the Roof

Outstanding Actress in a Musical

***Stephanie J. Block, The Cher Show***

Beth Leavel, The Prom

Rebecca Naomi Jones,Rodgers & Hammerstein’s Oklahoma!

Anika Noni Rose, Carmen Jones

Stacey Sargeant, Rags Parkland Sings the Songs of the Future

(Read more)


Photos: The Ferryman; Thh Prom

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *