(The following post about Chicago's American Theater Company appeared in the Chicago Tribune, November 3.)

Craig Lucas, Neil LaBute, Greg Kotis, David Henry Hwang, Maria Irene Fornes, Itamar Moses, Regina Taylor, Rolin Jones among writers penning new short works for ATC

American Theater Company says it will present a year-long festival that will premiere 30 short plays in honor of the theater company's 25th anniversary in 2010. 

Dubbed "The Silver Project," the event will feature 30 dramatic works by different writers, some with international reputations, some with strong connections to the Chicago theater and some with both. 

Aside from the marquee names above, it's a diverse list that ranges from Kristoffer Diaz ("The Elaborate Entrance of Chad Deity") and Stephen Karam to Laura Eason and Tanya Saracho. 

Each writer was asked by ATC artistic director PJ Paparelli to choose a year between 1985 and 2010 and write a piece inspired both by that year and the company's theme: "What does it mean to be an American?"


Visit the American Theatre Company Web site: http://www.atcweb.org/

Visit Stage Voices blog: http://stagevoices.typepad.com/stage_voices/

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *